The Laguna Niguel Billfish Club was founded in 1978 by Col. Brooks Morris. Brooks had a passion for the sport and wanted to compete in the Hawaiian International Billfish Tournament, which was the primary reason for founding the club.

Past Presidents :

1. Brooks Morris (Founder)
2. Bob McIntosh
3. Bob Kurz ( 2005-2012 )
4. Bob Dudley ( 2013-2014 )

5. Robert Chavers (2015-Present)

LNBC has won the HIBT in 1985, 1986, and 2008, being one of only 2 clubs in the history of the HIBT to have won this prestigious Tournament, three times.

In 1986, Club member, Gil Kraemer caught the only Grander ( 1000+ lbs.) Pacific Blue Marlin in the history of the HIBT. The Big Blue of 1062 lbs. on 50# test line set an IGFA Men's World Record at the time.

Other Club Members holding World Records Include:

Bob Kurz: Pacific Big-Eye Tuna- 83 lbs. on 8# Test.
Pete Maxwell: Shortbill Spearfish- 44 lbs. on 12# Test
Paul Hoofe - Thresher Shark 18 lbs. 9 oz. on 2# Test, 73 lbs. 13 oz. on 4# Test, 94 lbs. 12 oz. on 6# Test
. Also California Barracuda 7 lbs. 7oz. on 2# Test.

LNBC holds the Record for having caught the Two Largest Pacific Blue Marlin in HIBT History - 1062 lbs., and 973 lbs. Bob Dudley is the only Angler in HIBT to catch two Marlin over 500 lbs. in the same Tournament in 2008.

LNBC actively supports Billfish conservation and research, through IGFA, The Billfish Foundation and National Coalition for Marine Conservation. LNBC promotes Tag and Release of Billfish; the use of non-offset cirle hooks; and regularly participates in the IGFA Great Marlin Race (IGMR).

Membership is by Invitation .





For more Information Contact:

Bob Kurz email
Robert Chavers email

Gil Kramer & Captain Freddy Rice with the former men's 50 lb. Test IGFA World Record Pacific Blue Marlin


Laguna Niguel Billfish Club